'The past is ever present at Ninfa and the medieval walls still
define the character of the gardens.'
Charles Quest-Ritson, writer.
Ninfa was sacked by mercenaries in 1381 and the aristocratic Caetani family retreated to the hilltop town which overlooks it. It was never restored and the ruined buildings were left to crumble and become covered in brambles and ivy until the 1920s. Prince Gelasio Caetani was inspired to clear the land, survey and make good the remains of the buildings and begin the structural process of creating a garden among the ruins. Later generations continued with its development in what is a unique and beautiful setting.
|The church of San Biabio|
|San Biagio ruins and the lavender walk|
|Santa Maria Maggiore (fresco)|
|The Palace and Caetani tower|
The wavy carving on the entrance to the lake represents the Caetani coat of arms whilst the eagle represents the Dell'Aquila family whose families became united through marriage.
|Gelasio's summerhouse.Many writers and artists have visited Ninfa and have used the summerhouse|
as a place of creativity.